StudiCare

Photo by Buro Millenial on Pexels

 

Project Description

Mental Health Promotion in College Students

StudiCare includes various online training courses for the prevention and treatment of mental illness, tailored to the needs of college students. In order to improve existing offers, the StudiCare panel regularly surveys undergraduate students at the Friedrich-Alexander-University and the University of Ulm about their mental well-being from the first semester onwards.

Background

College is a new stage of life in which students make the transition from adolescence to adulthood. This transition period is characterized by joyful experiences as well as new, stressful situations. These include, for example, looking for one’s own apartment, organizing finances and studies, finding new friends, getting used to a new environment, exam stress, etc. In the course of their studies, students are not only confronted with this new situation, but may also experience crises. In combination with possible risk behaviors, such as excessive consumption of alcohol or cannabis, this can lead to exhaustion, psychosomatic complaints, anxiety and depressive disorders.

StudiCare Panel

The web-based panel survey is conducted in numerous countries worldwide as part of the WHO The World Mental Health Survey Initiative under the coordination of Harvard University among students from the first semester onwards. The aim of the survey is to obtain information on the mental health of students as well as on risk and protective factors for emotional stress during their undergraduate studies. In addition, more information on the willingness and barriers to using psychosocial interventions and counseling services will be collected. With information from the surveys, the need for help and support services will be assessed, existing counseling services will be improved and new online-based interventions tailored to the individual needs of students will be developed.

StudiCare Online Health Trainings

The online health training courses from StudiCare are low-threshold structured self-help training courses. These trainings can improve the well-being of students and alleviate complaints in a wide variety of areas. They can be used independently of time and place, can be optimally integrated into the individual daily routine and can be conducted anonymously. In the training courses, students manage their complaints independently by working through numerous modules. Modules are based on cognitive-behavioral techniques that are also used in conventional psychotherapy. Essential here are various practical exercises such as relaxation techniques, protocols for self-observation and the integration of small exercises into everyday life (“tiny task”). These help to reduce negative behavior and build up positive behavior. In the course of the project, new trainings are continuously being developed that deal with topics that are relevant for students. The newly developed online health trainings will be examined in randomized clinical studies to evaluate their effectiveness and cost-effectiveness.

Training Participation

Evidence-based methods for promoting mental health among students: Series of meta-analytical reviews

In order to derive appropriate measures, a comprehensive assessment of the current evidence base of psychosocial support services is necessary. In a series of meta-analytical reviews, the current knowledge about effective psychological treatment and prevention services including their effectiveness is collected and critically examined. Psychological interventions and their effectiveness are examined with regard to specific disorder areas (e.g. anxiety symptoms, eating disorders, sleep disorders, suicidal tendencies) or intervention methods (e.g. internet-based procedures, “third wave” procedures). Along with clinical effectiveness, special attention is devoted to the influence of interventions on the academic impairment of students.

 

Promotion & Cooperation

BARMER, Bergische Universität Wuppertal, European Union, FernUniversität in Hagen, FOM University, Harvard Medical School, Leuphana University of Lüneburg, Minddistrict, RWTH Aachen University, University Jaume I, University of Ulm, University of Zurich, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, World Health Organization

drawing
Fanny Kählke, MEd, MPH
Fanny Kählke, MEd, MPH
Research Associate
Marvin Franke, MSc
Marvin Franke, MSc
Research Associate

Related

StudiCare

Photo by Buro Millenial on Pexels

 

Projektbeschreibung

Gesund und erfolgreich studieren

StudiCare beinhaltet verschiedene, auf die Bedürfnisse von Studierenden abgestimmte, Online-Trainings zur Prävention und Behandlung psychischer Erkrankungen. Um bestehende Angebote zu verbessern, werden im Rahmen des StudiCare Panels Studierende grundständiger Studiengänge an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität und an der Universität Ulm ab dem ersten Semester in regelmäßigen Abständen zu ihrem psychischen Wohlbefinden gefragt.

Hintergrund

​ Das Studium ist ein neuer Lebensabschnitt in dem Studierende den Übergang von der Adoleszenz in das Erwachsenenalter erleben. Diese Übergangszeit ist sowohl von freudigen Erlebnissen als auch von neuen, stressigen Situationen und anderen Belastungen geprägt. Dazu gehören z.B. das Suchen einer eigenen Wohnung, die Organisation der Finanzen und des Studiums, das Finden neuer Freunde, das Gewöhnen an eine neue Umgebung, Prüfungsstress usw. Im Laufe ihres Studiums sind Studierende aber nicht nur mit dieser neuen Situation konfrontiert, sondern durchleben auch Reifungskrisen. In Kombination mit möglichen Risikoverhaltensweisen, wie zum Beispiel dem exzessiven Konsum von Alkohol oder Cannabis, können diese Reifungskrisen zu Erschöpfungszuständen, psychosomatischen Beschwerden, Ängsten und depressiven Störungen führen.

StudiCare Panel

​ Die webbasierte mehrmalige Panelbefragung wird weltweit in zahlreichen Ländern im Rahmen der WHO The World Mental Health Survey Initiativeunter Koordinierung der Harvard University bei Studierenden ab dem ersten Semester durchgeführt. Das Ziel der Befragung ist die Gewinnung von Informationen über die psychische Gesundheit von Studierenden sowie Risiko- und Schutzfaktoren für emotionale Belastungen im Studium. Darüber hinaus sollen mehr Informationen zur Bereitschaft und zur Barrieren der Inanspruchnahme von psychosozialen Interventionen bzw. Beratungsangeboten erhoben werden. Mit Hilfe des neuen Wissens soll der Bedarf an Hilf- und Unterstützungsangeboten erhoben, bestehende Beratungsangebote verbessert und neue online-basierte, auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Studierenden abgestimmte Interventionen entwickelt werden.

StudiCare Online-Gesundheitstrainings

​ Die Online-Gesundheitstrainings von StudiCare sind niedrigschwellige strukturierte Selbsthilfetrainings. Diese Trainings können in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen das Wohlbefinden von Studierende verbessern und Beschwerden lindern. Sie können ort- und zeitunabhängig eingesetzt werden, optimal in den individuellen Tagesablauf eingebaut sowie anonym durchgeführt werden. In den Trainings bewältigen Studierende ihre Beschwerden selbstständig, indem sie zahlreiche Module bearbeiten. Diese basieren auf kognitiv-verhaltenstherapeutischen Techniken, die auch in der klassischen Psychotherapie eingesetzt werden. Wesentlich sind dabei verschiedenste praktische Übungen wie Entspannungsverfahren, Protokolle zur Selbstbeobachtung und das Integrieren kleiner Übungen in den Alltag („tiny task“). Sie helfen dabei, negatives Verhalten ab- und positive Verhaltensweisen aufzubauen. Im Verlauf des Projektes werden kontinuierlich neue Trainings entwickelt, die sich mit Themen beschäftigen, die für Studierende von Relevanz sind. Die neu entwickelten Online-Gesundheitstrainings werden in randomisierten-klinischen Studien auf ihre Wirksamkeit und Kosteneffektivität untersucht.

Trainingsteilnahme

Evidenzbasierte Methoden zur Förderung psychischer Gesundheit bei Studierenden: Reihe meta-analytischer Reviews

Zur Ableitung von geeigneten Maßnahmen zur Gesundheitsförderung von Studierenden ist eine umfassende Beurteilung der derzeitigen Evidenzbasis gängiger psychosozialer Unterstützungsangebote vonnöten. In einer Reihe meta-analytischer Übersichtsarbeiten wird das derzeitige Wissen über effektive psychologische Behandlungs- und Präventivangebote und deren Wirksamkeit gesammelt und kritisch beleuchtet. Hierbei werden psychologische Interventionen und deren Effektivität mit Blick auf spezifische Störungsbereiche (z.B. Angstsymptomatik, Essstörungen, Schlafstörungen, Suizidalität) oder Interventionsmethoden (z.B. internetbasierte Verfahren, “Dritte-Welle”-Verfahren) untersucht. Zusammen mit der klinischen Wirksamkeit wird hier ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Einfluss von Interventionen auf die akademische Beeinträchtigung von Studierenden gelegt.

 

Förderung & Kooperation

BARMER, Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Europäische Union, FernUniversität in Hagen, FOM Hochschule, Harvard Medical School, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, Minddistrict, RWTH Aachen, Universität Jaume I, Universität Ulm, Universität Zürich, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, World Health Organization

drawing
Fanny Kählke, MEd, MPH
Fanny Kählke, MEd, MPH
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin
Marvin Franke, MSc
Marvin Franke, MSc
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Mathias Harrer, MSc
Mathias Harrer, MSc
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Ähnliches