Get.On Diabetes

 

Project Description

Internet-based intervention for major depression in diabetes mellitus type 1 and type 2 with smartphone support

About 30% of all diabetes patients suffer from major depression or subclinical depressive symptoms. Meta-analyses prove the effectiveness of internet-based health interventions (IGI) in the area of depressive disorders.

In a randomized controlled trial, participants with diabetes (type 1 and type 2) and depressive symptoms (N=352) are assigned to a six-week diabetes-specific Internet-based program for managing depressive symptoms or to a control group (psychoeducation) with unrestricted access to routine care.

Daily text messages and weekly individual feedback by e-mail are intended to increase the adherence of the training. The primary endpoint is the reduction of depressive symptoms. Secondary endpoints include diabetic-specific emotional stress and glycaemic control (HbA1c).

Program effectiveness and cost-effectiveness will be assessed after the intervention and at 3, 6, 9 and 12 months.

 

Funding & Cooperation

BARMER

Related

Get.On Diabetes

 

Projektbeschreibung

Internetbasierte Intervention bei Major Depression in Diabetes Mellitus Typ 1 und Typ 2 mit Smartphone-Unterstützung

Etwa 30% aller Diabetes-Patienten leiden an Major Depression oder an subklinischen depressiven Symptomen. Metaanalysen weisen die Wirksamkeit von internetbasierten Gesundheitsinterventionen (IGI) im Bereich von depressiven Störungen nach.

Im Rahmen einer randomisierten kontrollierten Studie werden Teilnehmer mit Diabetes (Typ 1 und Typ 2) und depressiven Symptomen (N=352) zu einem sechswöchigen diabetesspezifischen internetbasierten Programm zur Bewältigung depressiver Beschwerden oder zu einer Kontrollgruppe (Psychoedukation) mit uneingeschränktem Zugang zur Routineversorgung zugeteilt.

Durch tägliche SMS und wöchentliches individuelles Feedback per E-Mail soll die Adhärenz des Trainings erhöht werden. Primärer Endpunkt ist die Reduktion depressiver Symptome. Sekundäre Endpunkte betreffen u.a. diabetesspezifische emotionale Belastungen sowie glykämische Kontrolle (HbA1c).

Die Wirksamkeit des Programmes sowie die Kosteneffektivität werden nach der Intervention sowie zur 3, 6, 9 und 12 Monatskatamnese überprüft.

 

Förderung & Kooperation

BARMER

Ähnliches