Get.Back

Cottonbro on Pexels

 

Project Description

Effectiveness of a guided web-based intervention for the treatment of depression and back pain during incapacity to work.

Back pain and depression are among the number one common diseases and are enormously stressful for those affected. Depression usually affects all areas of the patient’s life: thinking, feelings, actions, body and relationships with other people. And because it is precisely with this disease that it is so difficult to make the decision to seek help, even though the drive to change something is lacking, it is extremely important to take a new path.

That is why an online training has been developed for people who have back pain, suffer from depressive symptoms, are currently on sick leave, and want to work on improving their mood. The following questions will be examined:

  • Is Get.Back effective for back pain patients with depression compared to standard treatment?
  • Is Get.Back cost effective for back pain patients with depression compared to standard treatment?
  • Which factors moderate the effect of Get.Back?

Based on a two-arm, pragmatic, randomized controlled study, Get.Back aims to investigate a web-based depression intervention. Get.Back includes modules for behavioral activation, problem solving, cognitive restructuring, physical activation and relapse prevention. The program is developed for weekly treatment over a total period of nine weeks and includes stwo booster sessions two and four months after the end of treatment.

Primary study outcome is depression severity at end of intervention. Secondary outcomes are: Depression remission, quality of life, pain intensity, pain-related limitation, pain-related self-efficacy, work capacity, adherence and satisfaction with the intervention, and intervention costs.

Outlook: The present effectiveness study focuses on disability due to back pain and depression as the most common health conditions associated with high life expectancy and health care costs.

 

Funding & Cooperation

BARMER

Related

Get.Back

Cottonbro on Pexels

 

Projektbeschreibung

Effektivität einer begleiteten web-basierten Intervention zur Behandlung von Depression und Rückenschmerz bei Arbeitsunfähigkeit.

​Rückenschmerzen und Depressionen zählen zu den Volkskrankheiten Nummer eins und sind für Betroffene enorm belastend. Eine Depression beeinträchtigt meist alle Lebensbereiche des Erkrankten: das Denken, die Gefühle, das Handeln, den Körper und Beziehungen zu anderen Menschen. Und da es genau bei dieser Krankheit so schwierig ist, die Entscheidung zu treffen, sich helfen zu lassen, obwohl der Antrieb fehlt, etwas zu verändern, ist es äußerst wichtig einen neuen Weg einzuschlagen.

Daher wurde ein Online-Training für Menschen entwickelt, die Rückenschmerzen haben, unter depressiven Symptomen leiden, derzeit krankgeschrieben sind und die an der Verbesserung ihrer Stimmung arbeiten wollen. Die folgenden Fragestellungen werden untersucht:

  • Ist Get.Back effektiv für arbeitsunfähige Rückenschmerzpatienten mit einer Depression im Vergleich zur Standardbehandlung?
  • Ist Get.Back kosten-effektiv für arbeitsunfähig Rückenschmerzpatienten mit einer Depression im Vergleich zur Standardbehandlung?
  • Welche Faktoren moderieren den Effekt von Get.Back?

Basierend auf einer zwei-armigen, pragmatischen, randomisiert-kontrollierten Studie zielt Get.Back auf die Untersuchung einer web-basierten Depressionsintervention ab. Get.Back umfasst Module zur Verhaltensaktivierung, Problemlösung, kognitive Umstrukturierung, körperliche Aktivierung und Rückfallprävention. Das Programm wird für die wöchentliche Bearbeitung über einen Gesamtzeitraum von neun Wochen und zwei Booster-Sitzungen zwei und vier Monate nach Ende der Behandlung entwickelt.

Primäres Studienoutcome ist Depressionsschweregrad bei Interventionsende. Sekundäre Outcomes sind: Depressionsremission, Lebensqualität, Schmerzintensität, schmerzbedingte Einschränkung, schmerzbezogene Selbstwirksamkeit, Arbeitsfähigkeit, Adhärenz und Zufriedenheit mit der Intervention sowie Interventionskosten.

Ausblick: Die vorliegende Wirksamkeitsstudie fokussiert auf Arbeitsunfähigkeit durch Rückenschmerz und Depression als häufigste gesundheitlichen Bedingungen verbunden mit hohen Lebenseinschränkung und Gesundheitskosten.

 

Förderung & Kooperation

BARMER

Sandra Schlicker, DiplPsych, PP
Sandra Schlicker, DiplPsych, PP
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Ähnliches